Spiced Apple Peanutter & Rosemary cookies

For those of you heading out to the wilderness this fall (or in life), here’s a tasty recipe I’ll share with you. If you like oatmeal cookies, you’re gonna love…

My SPICEDAPPLEPEANUTTER&ROSEMARY COOKIES.

I always wonder how I should name my cooking creations without having the entire ingredients list in one sentence. I guess I should just pick whichever ingredient sounds the coolest and add that to the name. Like SPICE. Who doesn’t feel their pores tingling when they hear the word, “SPICE”? Uh, no one, that’s who. 

A friend came over yesterday and brought with her a stack of Oreos. Bless her sweet natured heart, but I haven’t seen or been within close proximity of any such processed goods (they should be called processed BADS) for a long while. Thankfully, my housemates are starting to sway more towards clean eating with fresh produce, so I’ve been lucky enough to evade temptation. But there they were. Curvaceous rims of chocolatey, milky goodness and all – even a closed door wouldn’t keep me away. 

cforeostack

I love my badly Photoshopped pictures! Sorry, beautiful Crossfit lady, but you are now a funny photo.

I confess to the cyber world out there that I consumed three of these monstrosities yesterday, and in reality, that probably made me feel even MORE sick on the way to the box. I near dragged myself through the WOD for fear I couldn’t breathe!  Flu shot or not, I have been reduced to a hacking, sniveling wreck. On top of that, my ACL ridden left knee has decided to be a big wuss, so I had to substitute box step ups (which took AGES) for air squats. I need squats. Have you seen this booty (or lack, thereof?) It NEEDS squats. 

pullingoreosSorry CF South Bay.

Anyway, I’ve declared an official sick day, which means more Paleo granola-making, more Lana del Rey-listening and more sports movie-watching. Love sports movies. LOVE.

spicedapplepeanutterrosemarycookiesIngredients:-

2 large apples, finely diced (or you can shred them if you have a fancy Cuisinart machine)

1 cup chopped almonds, roasted or toasted

1 cup shredded coconut, unsweetened and toasted to golden brown perfection

3/4 cup organic peanut butter

2 tablespoons coconut oil

2 teaspoons vanilla extract

1 tablespoon cinnamon

1/2 tablespoon allspice

1/2 tablespoon ground cardamom

A pinch of salt

3 large eggs, beaten

1/2 cup of raw honey

1 sprig of fresh rosemary, chopped finely

Method of Madness:-

  1. Preheat that oven to 350°F. Line a baking tray with parchment paper.
  2. In a large bowl, mix apple chunks/shreds, shredded coconut, chopped almonds, salt and all the spices together.
  3. Add in coconut oil, peanut butter, vanilla extract, raw honey and eggs.
  4. Sprinkle chopped rosemary like you would fairy dust (which totally exists)
  5. Scoop the mixture out into cookies roughly 2 inches wide onto lined baking tray.
  6. Bake for 20 minutes until golden, delicious and brown, baby.
  7. Remove from oven and let cool completely (otherwise it’ll lose it’s crisp and crunch!)
Leave a Reply

