Grillin’ & Chillin’

Apologies for the poor title choice. I’m not feeling too inventive today. School has been shut down for the past 4 days and I’ve been using this time to catch up on work and get snuggly as winter draws near. I’ve also been trying to perfect my oatmeal raisin chocolate chip cookies, as you’ve already previously read. They’re definitely getting softer, but it’s such a balancing game between taste and texture! Argh! I feel like a mad scientist who’s just… mad. And steadily growing impatient and fat. So just in case you’re wondering why I haven’t been posting new recipes, this is why. All of my grocery money is going to oatmeal cookie ingredients until I PERFECT THEM. So just know that I’m working on something amazing.

Oatmeal2

I’ve also been doing a lot of “self-assessment” lately – wondering where I want my life to head, what kind of athlete I want to be, what my short term/long term goals are. Big questions! Whoever said their 20s were the most carefree times of their lives might get a good shaking from me. There’s just so much to figure out and I’m still struggling to feel comfortable in this skin I’m in. Good thing a pal at the box figured it all out for me.

Image

Prospects are looking GOOD, y’all! Pretty soon, I’ll be living it up with Ben (the oldest coach at our gym) in Italy, making a gazillion bucks on the food I make with my pet hedgehog and 19 1/2 children. OH YES. Aaaaaany time now.

Remember those origami hand fortune flowers we used to make? The ones which tell you if you’re going to marry your crush or be that jet-setter you always wanted to be? Aaah, I wish it were that easy. I watched the Vow last night and totally busted out like a sprinkler gone whack. Wiggedy whack. Ugh. Hey soulmate, desperation doesn’t suit me well. Hurry up and show yourself already!

As the title suggests, I’ve been doing some grillin’. I’ve made it a point to start cooking with food and techniques that are completely unfamiliar to me, just as a challenge. SO, recently I grilled some artichokes and brussel sprouts, which I LOVE to eat but are really freaked out by. I Googled “how to roast brussel sprouts” and the first step was ‘wash the brussel sprouts and slice them in half’. I screamed, “HELP! HELP! I DON’T KNOW HOW TO CUT BRUSSEL SPROUTS!” and my housemate had to come save me. We didn’t have these growing up so they’ve only just been introduced into my life, okay? Okay. But they turned out pretty darn tasty, if I do say so myself (and I do. I do say so). So have a go! Super easy to make and I bet your kids won’t be able to resist them.

ImageARGH. I’M SO HOMESICK. All I can do to pacify myself is watch sports movies. They’re like my “chick flick/rom-com”. Why are they awesome? Because they feature athletes who come from humble beginnings and grow into human beings of great strength, spirit and heart. So heartwarming. I am currently watching the Blind Side as we speak. Kay byeee!

Leave a Reply

