Paleo Earl Grey Vanilla & Lavender Ice Cream

So it turns out that my dear brother actually has the Cuisinart ice cream maker I’ve always wanted. Guess how crazy this girl has been going = crayzay! I had to had to had to search out some killer Paleo recipes because I thought I would bomb it, so I figured why not go all gung-ho and hope for the best, right? The problem was that the choices were endless! My tummy wants all sorts of flavours and it wants it now! Then I remembered the last time I ate really good ice cream from Milk LA, and it was one of the best things I’ve ever tasted. Earl Grey. Why NOT combine two amazing things – tea and ice cream – and share this velvety smooth treat with the world? Well, thank God and his pet poodle that someone out there has made a Paleo version. Jenny (I’m sorry I have to use you on a first name basis. You’re that great) of Paleo Foodie Kitchen came up with this brilliant recipe for Earl Grey & Lavender Ice Cream, and I just about swooned off of my chair. I felt like we could have instantly been best friends, just on this post alone. 

Knowing me, I freaked out at every point of this process, fearing the dreaded curdled cream surfacing or scrambled eggs. Nobody likes their eggs scrambled in ice cream. Yuck. But her instructions were pretty clear and the ingredients were measured out perfectly. There is no greater form of meditation than waiting for cream to thicken, I kid you not. The only thing I changed was adding the seeds from 8-10 vanilla pods instead of vanilla essence, and reducing the honey. And I didn’t have the time to make homemade almond milk like she did, so I just used the store kind. Less glamorous, I know. So, while I cannot claim this glorious recipe as my own, I will happily spread the word about Jenny and her fabulous food to all who shall listen. 

Plus, you get to be all fancy and serve it in teeny tiny cups like this.paleoearlgreylavendericecreamAnd that’s as much femininity as you’ll get from me, mum.

Earl Grey Lavender Ice Cream
Author: paleofoodiekitchen
Recipe type: Dessert
Serves: 4
 
Ingredients
  • 2 cups full fat coconut milk
  • 1 cup homemade almond milk * (or store bought almond milk)
  • 1/2 cup raw honey (I used 1/3 cup)
  • 5 large egg yolks **
  • ¼ cup loose leaf earl grey tea
  • 1 tbsp dried culinary grade lavender ***
  • 1 tsp pure vanilla extract (seeds from 6-8 fresh vanilla bean pods)
Instructions
  1. Heat coconut and almond milk with the honey over low heat in a saucepan. Make sure it does not boil.
  2. Once milk is hot and honey has been dissolved, remove from heat.
  3. Place the earl grey tea and lavender in a large cotton or paper tea bag and drop it into the milk mixture. Cover saucepan and infuse the milk with tea for 30 minutes (or longer for a much stronger flavor).
  4. Remove tea bag and rewarm the milk over low heat.
  5. At the same time, beat the egg yolks with the vanilla extract and temper it 1 tbsp at a time with the warm milk (until about ¼ cup of milk has been added to the eggs).
  6. Add the rest of the milk to the egg yolk mixture and mix until combined.
  7. Add it back to the pan and heat the mixture over low heat while stirring constantly.
  8. Watch this part carefully to avoid curdling.
  9. Once the mixture has thickened enough to coat the back of a wooden spoon. Remove it from heat and chill for 4-5 hours in the fridge.
  10. Freeze the cooled mixture using an ice cream maker for about 12 minutes. Make sure it does not get too hard.
  11. Place ice cream in a container and freeze for another hour before serving.
  12. This makes a pint of ice cream.
Notes
* Homemade almond milk is creamier and has no preservatives compared to the store bought brands. ** Make sure egg yolks are brought to room temperature to avoid curdling. *** Not all types of dried lavender is edible. Get ones that are used for cooking/baking.
3 thoughts on “Paleo Earl Grey Vanilla & Lavender Ice Cream

    1. No problem! It’s Jenny’s recipe, but as I said, I’ve made little alterations. I would also suggest just 1/3 cup of raw honey instead of 1/2 if you don’t like your desserts too sweet!

Leave a Reply

