Roasted Vegetable Pesto Breakfast Sandwich

I wish I could think of a cooler name for this, but that’s the best I’ve got right now. Much like many of you, fellow Paleo peeps, I’m always stuck on what to eat for breakfast. I don’t want to have eggs all the time and sometimes my stomach just isn’t ready to handle an epic meal. And sometimes, I don’t feel like eating meat at 8am (ohmyGod, I think all bacon-lovers just glared at me). So I came up with this vegetarian breakfast sandwich, and it tastes so. good. You could literally eat them all day. Maybe. Sort of. I don’t know, you should try it.

But before revealing this wondrous recipe, let’s get a quick update. Bring it in, bring it in. SO, today, I hung out with a friend from the box and had the best time on a hike at Runyon Canyon in Hollywood. It is such a beautiful hike overlooking LA and also, swarming with sun-kissed, shirtless Gods, glistening with sweat from the heavens. I’m guess it’s all the “trying-to-make-it” actors and actresses. But, seriously, every time a beautiful man strode past us, I wanted to be like, “Hey, you dropped something! … My jaw.”

IMG-20140120-00362

IMG-20140120-00365I have been tossing around the idea of going back on strict Paleo for a while now and just haven’t been able to convince myself. I feel like the hardest part about Paleo challenges is getting back on the horse, which I guess is why they say it’s a ‘lifestyle choice’ and not a diet. But, as one of my top three 2014 resolutions, I’ve promised my 21 year-old body that we’re going to get our body fat percentage down to 15% by end of June. So here comes my public announcement, that I may soon come to regret making:-

Starting tomorrow, January 21st 2014, I’m going to embark on a one year Paleo challenge.

The longest I’ve ever been on Paleo is 2 months so if I survive twelve, I think I could make it a lifelong relationship. It’s a good thing I don’t have too many cravings for junk food except cheesecakes. And the occasional croissant. And ice cream. And granola. And pastries. And chocolate. Really, all things bread. So I’m sure it’ll be tough, especially when I go out with friends and have to be that person who’s all like, “I’ll have a burger with no cheese, sauce, buns and fries. Oh wait, is it grass-fed?”

On the beautiful bright side, this biscuit recipe is so delish, you’d swear it wasn’t Paleo. But it is, so eat and be merry. You can also make the biscuits and pesto beforehand, so it’s an easier assembly the morning after.

Roasted Vegetable Pesto Breakfast Sandwich

Breakfast sandwichIngredients:-

Garlic Rosemary Biscuit:

1 cup almond meal

1/2 cup arrowroot powder

1/4 cup coconut flour

1 tablespoon garlic powder

1/2 teaspoon baking powder

1/2 teaspoon baking soda

Pinch of sea salt

1 sprig rosemary, leaves chopped

4 egg whites

2 eggs

2 tablespoons coconut oil

No-nut Pesto:

1 cup fresh basil leaves

3/4 cup virgin olive oil

1 bulb of garlic, chopped

Pinch of salt

Condiments:

1/2 red bell pepper, sliced thinly

2 tiny indian egg plants (or just regular sized vegetable, if you’re into that sort of thing), sliced thinly

4 egg yolks (from the egg whites you separated before)

5 cloves of garlic

1/2 teaspoon paprika

Pinch of salt

1/2 fresh avocado

Fresh thyme leaves

Method of Madness:-

BISCUIT:

  1. Preheat oven to 350°F and line a baking tray with parchment paper.
  2. In a large bowl, mix the almond meal, arrowroot powder, coconut flour, garlic powder, baking soda and baking powder together.
  3. Add the pinch of salt and chopped fresh rosemary.
  4. In a separate bowl, whip the egg whites till the become frothy. Mix them into the large bowl.
  5. Add the 2 eggs and coconut oil and mix well.
  6. Cover with cling wrap and leave in the fridge for 30 minutes.
  7. Once done, remove from fridge and scoop the mixture out into circular piles around 3 inches in diameter. (4 biscuits)
  8. Bake on mid-rack in the oven for 20 minutes, or until you see a little bit of golden brown on the crust.

PESTO:

  1. Chop basil leaves and garlic roughly and add to a small saucepan.
  2. Add olive oil to the saucepan and set to low heat to infuse the basil and garlic flavours.
  3. Add a bit of salt at a time, tasting as you go to make sure it doesn’t turn out too salty.
  4. Infuse for 10 minutes and then remove from the heat and let it cure for another 10-15 minutes.

CONDIMENTS:

  1. In a small bowl, toss the eggplant slices in a pinch of salt to remove the moisture and allow them to crisp up.
  2. Add a small drizzle of olive oil to a large pan on medium heat and toss in the eggplant slices and red bell pepper slices.
  3. Add paprika in and toss again.
  4. Cook slices on one side for about 5 minutes, flipping over for another 3-5. Move them about so they don’t burn and stick to the pan.
  5. In the meantime, scramble your egg yolks with the garlic and salt/pepper if you desire.
  6. Once done, put the pieces together by adding your eggplant slices first on the biscuit base, then bell pepper and scrambled eggs.
  7. Dollop some fresh pesto and decorate with avocado slices and fresh thyme leaves.
  8. YAY!

Leave a Reply

