Paleo Spaghetti Bolognese

What’s the haps, kiddos?

It’s Wednesday – my favourite day, like, ever. Why? Because on Wednesdays, you know that you’ve survived half the week and you only have 2 days till the weekend. Cowgirl woo! Funny story: I always favoured Wednesdays because it’s the day I came to be. Child of Woe, bro. That is, until my friend told me last week that my birthday actually falls on a Tuesday. Full of grace? Shut your face.

girl-face-plant copy

Today, I finally went for that MRI I’ve been putting off. I wanted to take a picture of the machine for those of you who’ve never seen/experienced one, but the magnetic fields were so strong, I was afraid my phone would have just exploded in my hand and I would be left fingerless. That would be no fun. So you know, Google it or something. All I can tell you is that my body was so still, I had to remind myself I wasn’t actually dead. And 30 minutes in a noisy cocoon machine is not as exciting as going through the carwash. Now that’s entertainment. Maybe I’ll take a snapshot of the final images when they come out and show you, provided the news isn’t completely soul-crushing. Just kidding.

I’m working on some new recipes, I swear! I know some of you must be like, “No posts in a week? Jamie. Come on.” But I’m busy doing other things. Like helping my roomie wash his cat. It was hilarious. And considering busking on the street for quarters to do my laundry. Don’t you just hate it when that happens? You’re two quarters short and you tear your room apart checking every jacket, pocket, bag you own just to dry your clothes. What’s worse is when you find the $5 you forgot about instead. Ugh, the pits.

IMG_9829

Paleo Chili Chocolate Chews. With a fudgy centre. Recipe coming soon!

Right. So my latest craving (in addition to my usual chocolate, pastry, anythingsweet cravings) is pasta. I’m missing Italy a lot and I’ve been Yelping waaaay too many Italian restaurants. Finally, I decided to try making Paleo pasta, made with spaghetti squash, which I didn’t really dig the first time I tried it. Mind you, when I ate it then it was plain and I was disappointed. This, however, is such a yummy “Mama’s boy” kind of meal to makes me happy after long day. I confess that I used store-bought pasta sauce because a) it’s delicious and b) I was lazy. If you’re all like, “Hell no!”, then be my guest and send me the recipe afterwards. It also only takes 20 minutes to make, including prep time, and serves 4, so party it up, peeps! 

Jamie’s Spaghetti Bolognese

IMG_9806Ingredients:-

1/2 a whole spaghetti squash, cut lengthwise, threads and seeds removed

1/3 lb grass-fed ground beef (but hey, the more meat the merrier, am I right?)

1 cup cherry tomatoes, sliced in halves

5 cloves of garlic, chopped 

1/2 bottle of Wolfgang Puck’s Creamy Vodka Tomato Sauce (not full Paleo, sorry)

1/2 a large eggplant, diced

1 tsp smoked paprika

1/2 green bell pepper

1 large carrot, chopped into small chunks

1 cup mushrooms, chopped

5 olives, chopped finely

1/2 tbsp oregano

1/2 tbsp fresh coriander, chopped finely

1 tsp garlic powder

Salt and Pepper to taste

Squeeze of fresh lime

Method of Madness:-

  1. Preheat oven to 425°F . Line a baking tray with parchment paper or tin foil.
  2. Place the spaghetti squash half open face down on the tray and cook for 20 – 25 minutes. I like a little crunch so I left it for 20.
  3. While you’re waiting, let’s make the sauce! Drizzle some olive oil into a medium saucepan over low-medium heat. 
  4. Add cherry tomato halves and chopped garlic and cook for 5 minutes until the tomatoes soften and the garlic starts to brown.
  5. In a separate bowl, throw a pinch of salt and smoked paprika over the diced eggplant. This takes out the moisture so they can crisp up a little.
  6. Once the garlic and tomato base softens, add everything but that kitchen sink into the saucepan – bell pepper, carrots, eggplant, mushroom and olives. Leave to cook for 2-3 minutes.
  7. Add in the Wolfgang Puck Creamy Vodka sauce and the garlic powder, oregano, coriander, salt and pepper.
  8. Cover with a lid and leave to reduce into a thicker sauce (5-10 minutes) over low heat. Stir the base occasionally to avoid burning!
  9. While you’re waiting, cook the minced beef in a skillet/fry pan with a little salt and pepper to taste. Don’t add too much because the sauce will be packed full of flavour!
  10. Once the beef is still slightly pink, transfer to the saucepan to finish cooking.
  11. When the spaghetti squash is done, take it out of the oven and leave to cool. 
  12. Using a fork, scrape the inside of the spaghetti squash lengthwise, against the grain.
  13. Scoop some “pasta” into a bowl, top with mighty meaty sauce, a squeeze of lime and a drizzle of olive oil. 
  14. Buon Appetito! 

Leave a Reply

