Learning to Love Odd Vegetables #2: Roasted Thyme Beetroot Chips

Greetings, good people!

Oh how quickly time seems to escape us when we’re busy. And this past two weeks have been busy. For one thing, my parents came to visit me for a couple of days. Of course, being the good Asian daughter I am, I planned their stay to the tee. I wonder where that phrase came from. Do they mean golf tees? Speaking of golf, we spent a night in Temecula, sampling wine after wine after wine because I am now finally of legal age here in this country. Wine tasting is quite a funny past time. I appreciate those who can distinguish subtle notes in each glass, but truthfully, I either like it or I don’t. “Cabernet Sauvignon – notes of burnt citrus, coconut, bacon, plums, and a hint of roasted coffee. Medium tanning.” I didn’t taste any of that – it just tasted like wine to me. Don’t worry, there was plenty of good food transported to my tummy and boy, did I have such a wonderful rest waking up to this:IMG-20140315-00008Many things have been shifting in my life lately and it just reminded me to not let myself be swayed so easily by change. I admit, despite my nomadic tendencies, change still scares me sometimes. It’s nice to fantasize about stability from time to time, but now I think the only thing scarier than change is consistency. So carpe your diem and stop resisting the new and the different, for goodness sake. You’re not going to spontaneously combust.

It was also my housemate’s birthday (the other one) and he requested a 6-inch pavlova for his cake. Although we didn’t quite make it past 2″, it turned out to be one heckuva pavvy.

pavy2rigelThe other day I was at the market and overheard some yoga lady asking another lady who was picking beetroots if she knew any other way of cooking them besides boiling. Personally, the thought of boiled blood red beets in a pot makes me think of things I should never mention in a food blog. So I pulled her aside and told her about this awesome recipe. Awesome. It’s crispy and smokey and delicious. Plus, it requires almost zero effort, which allows for ample time to dress your cat like a taco. 

Roasted Beetroot Thyme Chips

beetrootchipsIngredients:-

2 medium beetroots, peeled

Fresh thyme leaves

1 tablespoon olive oil or coconut oil

Salt (optional: because you really don’t need very much to make it taste yummy)

Method of Madness:-

  1. First of all, don’t wear anything white. These things stain like a wet grass picnic on a hot July day.
  2. Preheat the oven to 400F.
  3. Slice the beetroot widthwise very thinly – about a little less than 1/4″ thick (or as the rest of the world knows it as, 5mm). You can do semi-circles or full circles
  4. Place them in a bowl and toss with olive oil and thyme leaves. (Save the salt for later, in case you decide that I’m right.)
  5. Line a baking tray with parchment paper. Spread the beetroot halves on the tray.
  6. Bake for 30 minutes, turning the beetroot slices over at the 15 minute mark.
  7. Once the 30 minutes is done, turn the oven off and leave the beetroot in until crispy on the edges. About 5-10 minutes.
  8. Remove from the oven. Taste first and then season with salt if you want to. Add some goat’s cheese and walnuts and you’ve got yourself a drool-worthy snack!
Leave a Reply

